Gertrude Elion Medicinal Chemistry Award

The annual Gertrude Elion Medicinal Chemistry Award sponsored by the ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry honors Gertrude Elion’s pioneering role in advancing drug discovery and development to recognize the outstanding achievements of present-day medicinal chemists, and to inspire others to achieve excellence.


Gertrude Elion (1918–1999) pioneered the “rational drug design” approach to discover several effective drugs for treating leukemia, gout, malaria, herpes, and many other illnesses. Elion, with Hitchings, and James Whyte Black received the 1988 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for discovering important principles of drug treatment. Elion’s commitment to service was previously recognized with the Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal by the ACS (1968).


Call for nominations


The Gertrude Elion Medicinal Chemistry Award is open to a living scientist, in the U.S. or abroad, whose research have had a substantial impact on the field of medicinal chemistry and drug discovery. Normally, the Award is intended for established scientists whereupon a substantial body of creative work is available. Nominations may be submitted in before November 1st on an annual basis, and must include a letter of nomination, up to two seconding letters and a copy of the nominee's most recent curriculum vitae. Nomination packets should be submitted electronically as a single file.


The award includes an engraved plaque, a $6,000 honorarium, and travel expenses incidental to receiving the award at the Spring National Meeting. Awardees will be invited to the MEDI Award Symposium for a lecture, where they will be given the recognition plaque.


Submission deadline: November 1st

Submissions closed