MEDI Division Fellowships > The MEDI Division Predoctoral Fellowships​

The ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry announces the continuation of its annual Predoctoral Fellowship program. We anticipate that several $35,000 fellowships may be awarded in each year. The awards are for predoctoral students in their third or fourth year of graduate study (second or third year of graduate study at the time of application) engaged in medicinal chemistry research in a Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Biochemistry, or Chemistry department. Mentors for all applicants must be members in good standing of the Division of Medicinal Chemistry. Funds used to support predoctoral fellowships are to be used solely for stipend support for the awardee.

Nominations should be submitted by the applicant’s Ph.D. advisor and should include a complete student curriculum vitae, including education and work experience; a student bibliography, including reprints of articles; a complete project description including rationale prepared by the candidate (five-page limit not including references); transcripts of all post-high school work, including Graduate Record Examination scores (if available); three letters, including a nomination letter from the student's research advisor; and a letter from a university official with a commitment to cover tuition and all fees granted to other regular graduate students. Nominations should be submitted online as .pdf files by February 1.

Applicants must be a registered Ph.D. student with a focus on Medicinal Chemistry research at an accredited US Institution at the time of application and must have at least one year of graduate school remaining at the time an award would begin (September 1). Renewal applications from current fellows are accepted on a competing basis. Note that applications from international students at US institutions are welcome. Each recipient is expected to give a presentation of his/her work at the fall National ACS meeting in the year following the initial award, and will receive up to a $2000 travel grant from the Division for this purpose. 

These awards are not renewable. Recipients of fellowships may not be concurrently supported by another fellowship.

Submission deadline: February 1st

Winners of the MEDI Division Predoctoral Fellowship


Caroline Millard

Brian Anderson

Benjamin Deprez

Dalia Soueid


Jared Anderson

Babak Mahjour

Samantha Meyer

Gavin Smith


Steven Kell

Andrew Mahoney

Ansley Nemeth

Samantha Ottavi


Kornelia Skowron

Matthew Boudreau


Matthew Costales

Andrew Huntsman


Hang Chu

Kelsey Lamb

Adreanna Montgomery


Alex Nanna

Jennifer Pace

Brendon Drennen


Dana Klug

Jonathan Tietz

Kelsy Knewtson


Kyle Lonze

Patricia Blair

Stefan Kathman

Thomas Smith

Geoffrey Heinzi