The Bristol-Myers Squibb Smissman Award

This award was established in honor of Professor Edward E. Smissman of the University of Kansas, on the occasion of his untimely death in 1974. The Smissman Award is presented in odd years by the Division of Medicinal Chemistry at the Spring National Meeting of the American Chemical Society. It is given to a living scientist whose research, teaching or service has had a substantial impact on the intellectual and theoretical development of the field of Medicinal Chemistry. The award includes an engraved plaque and a $3,000 honorarium.  Normally, the award is intended for scientists relatively late in their active scientific careers whereupon a substantial body of creative work is available, and sufficient time has passed to put their work in perspective.

Past Winners of the Bristol-Myers Squibb Smissman Award

1975 - Corwin Hansch
1977 - Alfred Burger
1979 - Everette May
1981 - Adrien Albert
1983 - Hameo Umezawa
1985 - EJ Ariens
1987 - Robert Abeles
1989 - Les Mitscher
1991 - Phil Portoghese
1993 - Leroy Townsend
1995 - John Montgomery
1997 - Joseph Cannon
1999 - Ralph F. Hirschmann
2001 - Arthur A. Patchett
2003 - Ronald T. Borchardt
2005 - Dan Rich
2007 - Kenner Rice
2009 - Bruce E. Maryanoff 
2011 - James A. Wells
2013 - Richard B. Silverman
2015 - Dennis Liotta 
2017 - Kenneth Jacobson 

ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry