Scarborough Award for Graduate/PostGraduate Excellence

The Robert M. Scarborough Graduate/Postgraduate Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry is intended to recognize two current graduate students and/or postdoctoral researchers who have had primary, leading roles in the significant scientific discoveries that enhance the field of medicinal chemistry. This award is in memory of Robert M. Scarborough, an accomplished medicinal chemist and inventor of drugs such as Natrecor® and Integrilin®, and is sponsored by Portola Pharmaceuticals, Inc., a cardiovascular company founded by Dr. Scarborough. The awardees will present their research at the Fall national meeting of the American Chemical Society as a part of Division of Medicinal Chemistry programing, where they will receive a commemorative plaque, up to $2,000 in travel expenses, and a $4,000 honorarium.

Candidates must be current graduate students or postdoctoral researchers at an academic institution, private or government research foundation and must have demonstrated a key role in and contribution to a research project with direct medicinal chemistry applications and relevance. Nominees are expected to have demonstrated creativity and insight in medicinal chemistry and/or biology and possess pragmatic, empirical problem solving skills. A publication or presentation record that supports the candidate’s contribution(s) is helpful but not essential.

A completed nomination package includes a three-page research summary that highlights the candidate’s contributions, insight and problem solving skills, a curriculum vitae, and a letter of recommendation from the nominee’s primary research advisor. 

Nominations should be submitted online as .pdf files (link below).

Deadline:  February 1

Submissions closed

Winners of The Robert M. Scarborough Graduate/Postgraduate Award


Matthew Boudreau

Shizhong Dai


Emilio L. Cárdenas


Krupanandan Haranahalli

Andrew Steele


Kelly E. Henry

Liam Hudson


Michelle Richter

Rui Xiong


Renee Bouley

Heather Osswald


Mark Ericson

Dennis Buckley