The E. B. Hershberg Award for Important Discoveries in Medicinally Active Substances

The purpose of the E.B. Hershberg Award is to recognize and encourage outstanding discoveries in the chemistry of medicinally active substances. The discovery for which the award is given should have been made during the last two decades. The award consists of $3,000 and a certificate, and up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The award will be presented biennially in odd-numbered years. The E.B. Hershberg Award was established in 1988 by Schering-Plough Research Institute to honor the contributions of Emanuel B. Hershberg to the pharmaceutical industry, especially the application of organic chemistry for the discovery and development of novel drugs. It shall be granted for outstanding discoveries and/or developments in the chemistry of medicinally active substances, without regard to age or nationality of the recipient.  The award is currently sponsored by Merck.

Past Winners of the E. B. Hershberg Award

1991 - George deStevens
1993 - Arthur A. Patchett
1995 - Paul S. Anderson
1997 - Simon F. Campbell
1999 - John J. Baldwin
2001 - Iwao Ojima
2003 - A.K. Ganguly
2005 - Christopher A. Lipinski
2007 - John A. Katzenellenbogen 
2009 - Choung Un Kim
2011 - Richard B. Silverman
2013 - Bruce E. Maryanoff
2015 - Ruth R. Wexler
2017 - Stanley T. Crooke
2019 - Jeffery W. Kelly

ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry