< Back to Inductees

Garland Marshall, Ph.D.

Garland R. Marshall is Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics and of Biomedical Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis. In 1979, he founded Tripos Associates (NASDAQ:TRPS), vendor of computer-aided molecular design software, and was its President and Chairman until 1987. Dr. Marshall received the 1988 Award in Medicinal Chemistry and the 1996 Midwest Award in Chemistry from the ACS. He was recently selected for the ACS Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame.  Awards in peptide chemistry include the 1994 Vincent du Vigneaud Award, the 2000 Cathay Award (Chinese Peptide Society) and the prestigious 2001 Merrifield Award (American Peptide Society). Prof. Marshall founded MetaPhore Pharmaceuticals Inc. in 1995. Prof. Marshall received an Doctora Honoris Causa, Politechniki Lodzkiej, in 1993 (Technical University, Lodz, Poland). In 2005 Prof. Marshall was the Inaugural Lee Wing Nam Visiting Professor, School of Biological Sciences, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. In 2006 he was the Smissman Lecturer at the University of Kansas, and in 2007, the Alfred Burger Lecturer at the University of Virginia. Prof. Marshall has served on the SAB of the Institute for Molecular Biosciences, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia, the SAB of the Drug Discovery Institute of the University of Minnesota as well as a Trustee for the Torrey Pines Institute for Molecular Sciences (La Jolla, CA and Port St. Lucie, FL). Prof. Marshall was also the founder of Metaphore Pharmaceuticals that took a drug-like superoxide dismutatase mimetic through Phase II clinical studies. He was appointed an adjunct Professor of Chemistry at Washington University in 2010, and served in the fall of 20121 as visiting Professor at the Faculta di Farmacia, Sapienza Universitá di Roma.

Prof. Marshall was the first graduate student of R. Bruce Merrifield, Nobel Laureate, and participated in the invention/development of solid-phase peptide synthesis. Much of his early research dealt with the use of constrained amino acids/dipeptides in peptidiomimetics and enzyme inhibitors. More recently, he has experimentally determined by DEER EPR the rhodopsin-bound conformation of a segment of the C-terminus of Galpha. Currently, his research focuses on development of isoform-specific inhibitors of histone deacetylaces in HIV latency, uveal melanomas and antimalarials.

ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry

Webmaster:  secretary@acsmedchem.org