< Back to Inductees

Jeffery Kelly, Ph.D.

Jeffery W. Kelly is the Lita Annenberg Hazen Professor of Chemistry at The Scripps Research Institute. Kelly discovered the first regulatory-agency-approved drug (tafamidis vyndaqel; Pfizer) that slows the progression of familial amyloid polyneuropathy (a neurodegenerative disease) as well as familial and sporadic TTR cardiomyopathy (a disease leading to heart failure) caused by the aggregation of different sequences of transthyretin. Currently the Lab is focused on the discovery of first-in-class drugs that would slow the progression of more than one neurodegenerative disease by modulating organismal proteostasis and neuroinflammation. The Kelly group also provided some of the first compelling evidence to support the conformational change hypothesis, the notion that conformational changes alone are sufficient for amyloidogenesis, and they discovered the enhanced aromatic sequon, a N-glycosylated reverse turn structure that stabilizes proteins harboring it.  

Kelly has published over 350 scientific papers (ISI h-index > 95), was elected to the to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2016) and the National Academy of Inventors (2017), and has received several awards, including the E.B. Hershberg Award for Important Discoveries in Medicinally Active Substances  (2019),  American Institutes of Chemists Chemical Pioneer Award (2017), the Jacob and Louise Gabbay Award in Biotechnology and Medicine (2016), The Royal Society of Chemistry Jeremy Knowles Award (2016), The American Chemical Society Ralph F. Hirschmann Award in Peptide Chemistry (2012), The Biopolymers Murray Goodman Memorial Prize (2012), The Protein Society Emil Thomas Kaiser Award (2011), The American Peptide Society Rao Makineni Lectureship (Award; 2011), The American Peptide Society Vincent du Vigneaud Award (2008), The American Chemical Society Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award (2001), and the Protein Society–Dupont Young Investigator Award (1999).

ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry

Webmaster:  secretary@acsmedchem.org